• You do not need to register if you are not going to pay the yearly fee to post. If you register please click here or log in go to "settings" then "my account" then "User Upgrades" and you can renew.

HuskerMax readers can save 50% on  Omaha Steaks .

Locked due to no posts in 60 days. Report 1st post if need unlocked Some thoughts on parity and conference structure

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hemingway155

Recruit
2 Year Member
Last night I got to thinking about the B1G's decision to go after Maryland and Rutgers in light of the structure of other major conferences, and that made me think about structural features that could fuel the current SEC dominance and lovefest (in addition to dirty recruiting tactics). That said, I am a college debate coach with experience structuring tournaments, and decided to look at it from that perspective. With debate tournaments, it is generally a bad sign for the quality of the tournament if it produces too many teams high in the brackets (with undefeated records or close to it). Part of this is a result of tournaments power-matching opponents rather than having set brackets, but it also assumes that the lower-quality teams influence on the tournament is felt as they transfer wins to higher quality teams. Thus, if you end up with more teams in the higher brackets it can be taken as a sign of a higher prevalence of easy teams as much as a dominant performance by the top teams. With that premise, I set out to look at how this year panned out, comparing the SEC to the B1G. Obviously, this would need a more longitudinal perspective to be meaningful, and probably expand to other conferences as well, but it does give me some initial thoughts.

Teams in the lower half of the SEC (7) netted a total of 12 conference wins this year, for a total of 21% of the available wins in the SEC. This includes Auburn and Kentucky each contributing 8 wins to the upper brackets.