• You do not need to register if you are not going to pay the yearly fee to post. If you register please click here or log in go to "settings" then "my account" then "User Upgrades" and you can renew.

HuskerMax readers can save 50% on  Omaha Steaks .

Boat Motor Storage

I don't have a boat, but I am a marine engine service engineer, and I have a little experience winterizing engines. It's been a while since I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express.

I'd recommend draining all the fuel except what will run the engine for a few minutes. Then add the stabilizer (I use double the recommended amount, but that's just me). Run the engine and "fog" it. You want a good coat of preservative on all the internal parts. Shut it down, and preferably drain as much fuel from the tank as you can, though if it has the stabilizer it should be OK for the winter.

Then the best thing would be to spray a VCI (volatile corrosion inhibitor) in the tank to prevent your worst enemy, rust. More is better. Even more is even better.

If it's in your climate controlled basement, that's the best case. Temperature swings will cause condensation in any engine... and this happens every night. If you run the engine everyday during the season, it's not a problem. But people don't realize even after a few nights/days of the temperature cycle, you can get an ugly coat of rust in your intake, cylinders, etc. We recommend running block heaters overnight to prevent the condensation, and if your boat's idle at the marina for longer than a week or two (i.e. you don't want to run block heater) then preserve the insides with VCI. That may sound extreme, but I deal primarily with salt water vessels so we've seen them all.

Oh, and for startup in the spring, just add fresh fuel.

Sorry I don't have a TL; DR version.

I want a neighbor like you. That's good information.