• You do not need to register if you are not going to pay the yearly fee to post. If you register please click here or log in go to "settings" then "my account" then "User Upgrades" and you can renew.

HuskerMax readers can save 50% on  Omaha Steaks .

Smoking the Thanksgiving Turkey

RedStones

If you aren't on the right, you're wrong.
10 Year Member
My sister talked me into smoking one of the 3 turkeys planned for our Thanksgiving meal. I'm fairly new to smoking meats. Been doing it for about a year and a half. I've done ribs, brisket, and a few turkey breasts and am mostly happy with how everything turned out. But I haven't done a full size turkey before and I'm looking for suggestions and ideas so I don't screw this up.

First, I'd like to keep it simple. Brining and maybe a good rub. I've read quite a bit on the subject and have some questions for you guys.

The turkey: 18 lbs.

Smoker: Traeger pellet smoker.

Brining: I'm planning to brine the turkey but I'll only have about 24 hours to do it. Is that enough time?

Butterfly: Should I butterfly (or spatchcock) the turkey or leave it whole?

Wood: I'm thinking of using an Apple/Cherry blend but the wife wants me to include some Mesquite. We both love Mesquite but just about everything I've read says to avoid it with poultry. Would a 25 or 30% mix

Time: This is where I just don't know. If I butterfly it I assume it will cook much faster but I don't want it to cook too fast so that it will have time to get a good smokey flavor.

Temp: I'm thinking 225°

Internal temp: I've read that I shouldn't exceed an internal temp of 150° to avoid getting the bird too dry. 165° is the government recommended temp. Anybody have thoughts on this?

Anything else I need to consider or is there anything I've missed?

Last edited:
I've never used a pellet smoker,
I Always used fruit wood, mainly apple because I have lots of it.
Brine is ok. I usually use dry run

I always smoked it whole, you don't have to