What say you?
There is NO DOUBT that it was a great catch...but the question stills stands...is it an OUT or HOME RUN? The rules are very vague, not concise/clear cut regarding this.
Refer to Rule 6.05a:
6.05 A batter is out when—
(a) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder;
Rule 6.05(a) Comment: A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch,
and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. A fielder, in order to make a catch on a foul ball
nearing a dugout or other out-of-play area (such as the stands), must have one or both feet on or over
the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout
or in any other out-of-play area. Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls
into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead. Status of runners shall be as
described in Rule 7.04(c) Comment.
This is where the issue is...we all know he "caught" the ball...but is it really an out since he didn't have a feet or both on the playing surface? unless his foot was touching the invisible vertical plane of the actual playing field?