Get HuskerMax™ on your iPhone. Click here for details. Get tickets for all home and away games here.
  • Interview with Avery Anderson

Avery Anderson of Pine Creek High School in Colorado Springs, Colorado, is rated as a four-star prospect by Rivals, ESPN and Scout. Anderson is capable of playing cornerback or free safety at the next level and is widely considered one of the better defensive backs in the Western United States. Anderson was apart of an impressive quartet of recruits who committed to Nebraska following a successful Junior Day held during the first weekend of February. I had the opportunity to interview Avery in an attempt to gain some insight into his recruiting experience. The following is a transcript from that:

Q: What kind of things do you do for fun?

A: For fun, I like to just hang out with my family and friends.

Q: At what age did you start playing football?

A: I started playing tackle football in 6th grade.

Q: What was your favorite college team growing up?

A: My favorite college team growing up would have to be Arizona State. I lived in Arizona.

Q: Have a favorite NFL Team?

A: The New York Giants!

Q: Which is better, the NFL or college?

A: That's a hard one! I love them both but I would have to say college football.

Q: Are you glad the NCAA implemented a 4-team playoff?

A: Yes sir, I am. I think it will be fun to watch and one day be a part of.

Q: Do you try and emulate any specific player?

A: Deion Sanders, just because I think he is one of the best to ever play the game.

Q: Any particular reason for the jersey number?

A: I like wearing the number one because of the swagger than comes with it and it's also my favorite number.

Q: When and who was your first scholarship offer?

A: Wyoming, after my sophomore year.

Q: How many scholarship offers do you currently have?

A: I have five offers. (Nebraska, Arizona State, Kansas State, Utah, Wyoming)