Get HuskerMax™ on your iPhone. Click here for details. Get tickets for all home and away games here.
  • Interview with Demornay Pierson-El

Demornay Pierson-El is a versatile athlete from West Potomac High School in Alexandria, Virginia. He is being recruited to play multiple positions at the next level. Schools are recruiting him to play running back, wide receiver and defensive back. Nebraska likes his versatility and how his skill set would fit into their offense. With the struggles the Huskers have had the past few years in the return game, Pierson-El would also bring added value to their special teams units. I had the opportunity to interview Demornay in an attempt to gain some insight into his recruiting experience. The following is a transcript from that:

Q: What kind of things do you do for fun?

A: I like to work out and hang out with my friends.

Q: At what age did you start playing football?

A: I started playing at a young age, like 4 or 5.

Q: What was your favorite college team growing up?

A: Growing up my favorite team was probably West Virginia.

Q: Have a favorite NFL Team?

A: Yes I have a favorite NFL team, the Baltimore Ravens.

Q: Which is better, the NFL or college?

A: I hope to experience both. The NFL game is probably better.

Q: Do you try and emulate any specific player?

A: If anything I admire Ray Lewis. The way he led his team and kept them in games and his passion to keep pushing his team and the people around him.

Q: Any particular reason for the jersey number?

A: Not really, I just love the #5.

Q: Are you happy the NCAA is going to a playoff, or did you prefer the BCS system?

A: I liked the old system because I knew how it worked. I wanna see how the new system is going to work.

Q: When and who was your first scholarship offer?

A: Old Dominion offered me in December I think. It was at the end of my junior year.

Q: How many scholarship offers do you currently have?

A: I currently have seven D-1 offers.