Get HuskerMax™ on your iPhone. Click here for details. Get tickets for all home and away games here.
  • November 28, 2011: It is quacking like a duck...

There is an old saying, "If it walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, it probably IS a duck." I can't think of a more appropriate comparison as I have followed the exploits of Ndamukong Suh the past few weeks. As a coach, I look at the talents of this young man and just watch in awe. Suh certainly can be a game changer, and has had tremendous impact early in his NFL career. I wish the impact was all good.

My first exposure to Suh was two Springs ago at the Spring game. What a moment it was for me when I got to meet Dr. Tom Osborne and talk with him about our Playmakers mentoring program. Being in his office, I felt that I should take my shoes off and just listen and be grateful to be there. Coach spoke of the Spring game being "too big." We shared the same view when I suggested what it would be like to have 80,000 caring for lost kids rather than football practice.

Prior to kick-off there was a ceremony where Suh presented the University with a large check. My first thought was, "I hope that this guy is the real deal," as he can have tremendous impact with kids and families. My observation is that he is having an impact. Unfortunately, just not the kind that will leave a positive legacy. Not since Brian Bosworth have I seen a guy begin to alienate veterans who respect the game as fast as Suh has.